D.E. Frost Award

D.E. Frost was the first President of the Calgary Section of the IES. This award bears his name to commemorate the interconnection between the achievement of exceptional lighting design and dedication to the lighting industry.

Every year, the IES Calgary Section Awards Committee reviews the Illumination Awards entries by our section and selects the winner of the D.E. Frost Award for Excellence in Lighting. The award is presented at the Annual IES Calgary Section Celebration.

For information about how you can submit a project for the Illumination Awards click here.

For questions, please contact the Awards Committee Chair

2023 Winners


      • Geoff Bouckley – LightSPACE at SMP Engineering
      • Anton DeGroot – LightSPACE at SMP Engineering
      • Justin Sebastian – WOW Lighting and Controls
      • Tyler Kuntz – WOW Lighting and Controls

Project Client: Calgary Municipal Land Corporation (CMLC)

Owner: City of Calgary.

Previous Recipients

  • 2022 Glenmore Reservoir Dam Renewal Calgary, AB
    Outdoor Lighting Design
    Designer: Ian Martens & Henry Zywotkiewicz from SMP Engineering
  • 2021 University of Lethbridge – Science Commons Calgary, AB
    Interior Lighting Design
    Designer: Dale Krall, Neil Popson & Brian King from SMP Engineering
  • 2020 Brookfield Residential YMCA at Seton Calgary, AB
    Interior Lighting Design
    Designer: Geoff Bouckley – SMP Engineering, Kevin Showalter – SMP Engineering, Brigitte Paquette – SMP Engineering, David Wittman – Gibbs Gage Architects
  • 2019 New Central Library Interior Lighting Calgary, AB
    Interior Lighting Design
    Designer: Ian Martens – SMP Engineering, Cody Bargholz – SMP Engineering, Brad Trufen – SMP Engineering, Dennis Rijkhoff – Snohetta, Rob Adamson – DIALOG
  • 2018 Studio Bell Calgary, AB
    Interior Lighting Design
    Designer: Kamal Parmar – SMP Engineering, Alison White – SMP Engineering, Geoff Bouckley – SMP Engineering
  • 2017 Northeast Calgary Mosque Calgary, AB
    Interior Lighting Design
    Designer: David Carter – Mulvey+Banani, Nick Halls – Mulvey+Banani
  • 2016 Historical Ranchmen’s Club of Alberta Calgary, AB
    Designer: Gary Chomiak – SMP Engineering
  • 2015 Bow Valley College Expansion and Redevelopment, South Campus Calgary, AB
    Designers: Scott James, Andy McKnight, Martin Jones & Natalie Weiss
  • 2014 The Walter Phillips Gallery LED Re-Lighting Project Calgary, AB
    Designers: Trevor Cleall – DIALOG
    Mimmo Majolo, Charlene Quantz-Wold, Jesse McKee – The Banff Centre
  • 2013 The Lions Awaken – The Re-Lighting of the Centre Street Bridge Calgary, AB
    Designers: Paul Mercier & Kimberly Mercier – Lighting Design Innovations
  • 2012 Ralph Klein Legacy Park Calgary, AB
    Designers: Gary Chomiak & Garry McTighe – SMP Engineering
  • 2011 Talisman Centre Main Building Lighting Upgrades Calgary, AB
    Designers: Wayne Yan – Williams Engineering Canada Inc.
    Neil Jaud – Neil Jaud Architect Inc.
  • 2010 Crowfoot LRT Station Calgary, AB
    Designers: SMP Engineering
  • 2009 Historic Residence Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON
    Designers: Paul Mercier & Kim Mercier – Lighting Design Innovations