IES Illumination Awards

Program Overview
The IES Illumination Awards (formerly the International Illumination Design Awards) provides a unique opportunity for public recognition of professionalism, ingenuity, and originality in lighting design based upon the individual merit of each entry judged against specific criteria.

Judges are selected from a broad professional spectrum that represents knowledge of lighting and design excellence. The judging system is based entirely on how well the lighting design does or does not meet the program criteria. This program is not a competition. The program is open to any qualified entrant without limitations as to professional affiliations. The Lighting Control Innovation Award, the Guth Award, the Outdoor Lighting Design Award, the Cutler Award and the Energy and Environmental Design Award are parallel programs created to recognize outstanding lighting design.

Award Categories
The Lighting Control Innovation Award, sponsored by the Lighting Controls Association
The Edwin F. Guth Memorial Award for Interior Lighting Design
The Outdoor Lighting Design Award sponsored by Eaton
The Energy and Environmental Design Award

Award Levels
Section Award (Judged by local judges)
Award of Merit
Special Citation (Recognizes superior elements for a portion of a project)
Award of Excellence
Award of Distinction

The application submission period begins in January. Click here for details on Procedures and Rules, and a step by step Submitter Tutorial under Applicant Resources.

Even if you are not submitting, why don’t you get involved?

Section Judging: A panel of local judges critique projects submitted for the first round of judging
Online Judging: IES members review and score projects from the global pool of submissions

If you are interested in being part of the Section Judging Panel or would like to sign up as an Online Judge, please contact our IA Section Chair.